One Day At A Time

Baby It’s Cold Outside!

So today is going to be cold and windy.  Perfect day for home made Individual Chicken Pot Pies.

My family loves chicken pot pie, but everyone likes different stuff inside.  So I started making individual made-to-order pies.  They are a huge hit!  As a matter of fact, Ryan texted me just yesterday to ask if we could have them soon.  🙂

I generally use Cream of Chicken Soup when I make my filling, but I think I’m going to change it up a bit today.  In an effort to by-pass the Cream of Chicken soup which is loaded with sodium, I’m going to try The Pioneer Woman’s Pot Pie Recipe today.  I may make some changes along the way, but I’m definitely going to use low sodium broth and cream instead of canned soup.   Oooooh, and some wine.  🙂

So, basically I roll out an uncooked pie crust (I use Pet Pie Crust from the dairy section).  I use the bowl I’m going to serve it in to cut a circle out of the dough.  Just turn your bowl upside down on the pie crust and twist or use a knife to cut out a circle.  I do this for each bowl.

Then I mix up the basic filling – which is shredded rotisserie chicken and “broth”.  That’s it for the girls.  That’s all they want in their pie.  So I fill up their bowls with this mixture and move on to the others.

To my basic mixture, I add frozen onions and fresh mushrooms.  Mmmmmmm, mmmmmm!

The boys have the works – chicken, onions and frozen mixed veggies.  Bob & Kenny – the works, minus mushrooms.  Ryan – everything but the kitchen sink.

Once all the bowls are full, put a cut pie crust on top of each, seal the edges and carve initials into the top.

I think I’ll try brushing the tops with the egg was today and see how that works.

Pop into the oven (follow the pie box instructions) and bake until brown and bubbly.  Usually about 30 minutes or so.

Serve with a nice side salad and you will have deliriously happy peeps.

I’ll post a pic of the finished pies later.

Happy Wednesday!  Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

