One Day At A Time

So, I’ve been reading about kale chips a lot lately.  I’ve never eaten Kale in my life, until the bunch I bought last week to put in my juice.  Prettiest green ever!  So cute and curly and I can’t even taste it in my juice.  I was down to just a few curly leaves close to the stalks, so decided to try making kale chips out of what was left.    Um, hello!  What a surprisingly good treat!

Even they look wet and slimy, they are completely dry and light as a feather.  When you pop one into your mouth it just sort of disintegrates!  Funniest thing ever!  I couldn’t stop eating them!  I read that you can make a whole bunch and then store them in an airtight container in a dark cabinet or pantry.  Bonus!

They are easy to make.  Remove the curly leaves from the main stalk.  Make sure they are washed and COMPLETELY DRY!  I ran mine through a salad spinner and then just blotted off any excess water.  Line a non-air cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Lay kale out in a single layer, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt.

Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes until edges are lightly brown.  DO NOT WALK AWAY!  They can burn quickly!  And then you’re left with kale ash.  Not good.

Note:  so I drizzled with olive oil, but I think it didn’t need that much.  Next time I will spritz olive oil with my oil spritzer.  🙂

Don’t be scared, give these a try!!  They would be great crumbled over salad, baked potatoes, casseroles, meat, or whatever.

 

I read that oven roasting will not affect the vit k found in kale, and that it will only minimally reduce the levels of beta carotene and vit c.  So a nutritious snack as well!!  🙂

Comments on: "Have You Tried Kale Chips Yet?? Oh My!" (4)

  1. gidgetgetsskinny said:

    Bought Kale last week to make these……you just reminded me to use it!! Thank you, can’t wait to try them…

  2. My girls won’t even try them! They said they look and smell gross! lol Leaves more for me. 🙂

  3. I am scared! I eat kale in my smoothies and soups, but not sure about the chips. I have also heard a lot of people talking about them!

Leave a Reply

