One Day At A Time

Goodness Gracious….

…. where does the time go??  Here it is all most the end of April.  It’s been almost 2 full months since I decided to make some major changes in my life, namely the way I eat.  Honestly, if I had known it was going to be this easy I would have done it a LONG time ago!  Who would have believed that a junk food junkie like me could give up processed food, as well as white breads/pastas, refined white sugar and table salt.   I’m being completely honest when I say this has been way easier than any diet I’ve ever tried.  And although my number one reason for changing what I put in my mouth was for health reasons, I’m beyond thrilled that the weight is coming off as well.  To date I’ve lost 8 pounds.  I hope to drop a couple more here soon so that I can have TWO blue beads in my jar!!  :))

My hubby and I went to Florida last weekend and I ate out 5 times over a 3 day period.  Finding good food to eat really wasn’t that hard.  The funny thing was that I was craving fruits and veggies (a true first for me!).  With no juicer, my body was telling me it needed some plant stuffs.  If you look hard enough on most restaurant menus you can find sides of fresh fruits or veggies.   I even paid $8 at the grocery for a bowl of cut up fresh fruit!  lol  But, boy did it hit the spot.

And I was beyond tickled when I got home and discovered that I had lost  another pound despite all my eating out!  woohoo!

So, now I’m back to juicing and eating at home.  I’ve finished up my 8 weeks of prescription strength Vitamin D.  Guess I need to make an appt to go have my levels checked again.  Honestly, I feel so much better.  I’ve still got a long way to go, but what an improvement from me at the beginning of March!

This morning’s juice.

1 apple, 3/4 cucumber, a few cubes each of honeydew and cantaloupe, 1 large kale leaf and a handful of baby spinach.  yuuuuuummmm!

Also, here’s a little enchilada type dish I threw together last week.  I had planned to make enchiladas with the 100% whole wheat flour tortillas I had bought, but when I got the package out I discovered there were only 4 left!  Dang fridge rats!  So I made the girls a pan of traditional enchiladas with just rotisserie chix, cheese and sauce, rolled up with sauce and cheese on top.  For hubby and I, I sprayed the bottom of 13×9 pan with some olive oil laid out a layer of white corn tortillas, spread a concoction of the chicken, sauce, diced onions, corn and rinsed black beans on top, laid down another layer of the tortilla, drizzled with enchilada sauce, and some shredded cheddar and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes.  OMG!  It was delicious!  I liked if much better than the traditional enchilada.  I will definitely make them again.  I just love corn and black beans in things.  They add so much flavor.

How is everybody?  Anybody have anything good to share?  Recipes, weight loss, blog sites??  Comment below!  I’d love to hear from you!  🙂

Comments on: "Goodness Gracious…." (5)

  1. Awesome!! 🙂

  2. Sounds great, good for you! I have started something very similar, going on my seventh week. I agree with you about it being easier than I thought. I have been heard saying, “I don’t want to live in a world without cake!”
    After seeing “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead”, I became curious about juicing, but have not tried it. How often do you it?

    • Hi njsherry! I checked your blog out briefly. Will have to go back and browse when I’ve got some more time. I have “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”. It’s such an inspiration, especially Phil! I absolutely LOVE my juicer! I juice every single morning before I eat breakfast. I literally can’t wait to have my glass of juice! I’m thinking about adding a second glass about early afternoon. I’ve gotten where I actually juice more green leafy vegetables than fruit now, so it’s very healthy. I was worried at first about the concentrated sugar levels in the fruit I was juicing. But then I got over it. I’m sure the vitamins and nutrients far outweigh the sugar I am taking in. Besides I used to live on cookies, cakes, chips, etc. Now I get several servings of fresh fruits and veggies every single day – and no cookies, cakes and chips. 🙂
      I feel so much better!

      I’d kind of like to do the 7 day juice fast, but with a photography business in full swing, I don’t think I could handle those first 3 days they all talk about! lol Maybe someday. Try juicing, I bet you’ll love it! 🙂

      • Yes, come back and browse 🙂 I think I will try juicing some day. I am an elementary teacher, so I too am concerned with those first days. Maybe in the summer!

Leave a Reply

