One Day At A Time

A Few New Recipes

Hey Everyone!  I’ve got a few new recipes that we’ve tried and liked that I thought I would share.  Sadly, I have no pictures.  I know, I suck.  What kind of photographer am I??  lol

These two are the same, just different kind of meat.

Burger with Brown Rice & Parsley  (this was absolutely delicious!)

  • 1 lb ground beef  (the leaner the better)
  • 3/4 cup cooked brown rice
  • 6 Tbsp fresh parsley, minced

Blend together, divide into 4 patties, and grill or cook as you like.  We grilled ours and they were soooo good!  Loved the brown rice in there.  Just added a little somethin’ special.

It actually called for a sauce which was an onion sliced thin and sautéed with 1 1/3 cups of 100% grape juice and 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar.   Sautee onions, add liquid and boil until reduced.  Honestly, none of us cared for the sauce.  Would have preferred just plain sautéed onions.  But you might like it!!

Chicken Version

Exactly as above, except made with ground chicken.  I cooked these in a skillet with a dab of olive oil.  Awesome!  Ate one with a little bit  of bbq sauce.   Great for lunch!

Home-Made French Fries

  • 4 Idaho potatoes (or large red potatoes), skins on cut into fry shapes  🙂
  • 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Preheat oven to 475.   Roast 15-20 minutes turning occasionally, until they are golden brown and fork tender.

These tasted really good, but would have preferred them crunchier.  But they were good.

Home-Made Refried Beans

These are cooking as we speak!!  Oh my goodness they smell so good!   I will post the recipe after they are finished and I’ve given them a try.  They are basically dry pinto beans, fresh garlic, onion, cumin, salt & pepper.  They cook in 6 cups of water in the crock pot all day and then they get mashed.

Think how delicious these would be on a whole wheat tortilla with some cheese, sour cream, maybe avocado…. rolled up.  Oh My!  Or how about a dip for my favorite Skinny Chips!!  I want some NOW!  They’ve got 2 more hours to cook.

Tonight we’re having steak and a roasted veggie.  I bought fresh asparagus, Brussel sprouts, green beans and broccoli.  I’m thinking we’re going to try asparagus tonight.  Hope it’s good!

Post your yummy recipes in the comments!  We would all love to hear them!  Or post a link to your blog!  🙂

Leave a Reply

