One Day At A Time

Amazing Salad!

Tried my hand at a salad similar to the one I had at Panera Bread the other day.  Not bad if I do say so myself!  🙂

Cast of Characters

  • Bagged Romaine lettuce
  • Boxed baby spinach
  • Steam fresh whole kernel corn
  • Canned black beans
  • sautéed onions and green peppers (chopped smallish)
  • Hard boiled egg
  • Rotisserie chicken (room temp)
  • BBQ sauce

Okay, so I sautéed the onion and green peppers in a bit of olive oil and set aside to cool.  Meanwhile, threw the Steam Fresh corn in the microwave.  When it was done, I threw a few spoonfuls in the pan to brown up a tad.  Rinsed a few spoonfuls of the black beans and set aside to drain.  Chop up the egg in the egg/slicer/chopper thingie.  Slice up some chicken breast into long, thin strips.

Time to assemble!  Mix some Romaine and spinach in a bowl.  I use my pasta bowls.  They are the perfect size and shape for salad.  Throw some onion and green pepper, corn and black beans on top.  Mix up a bit.  Place chicken strips on top.  Drizzle your favorite bbq sauce on top.  I used the new Weber sauce.  It’s pretty low in sugar and not many ingredients.  Sprinkle some hard boiled eggs on top.  Devour!  It was delicious and filling.

Try it and let me know what you think!!  (I added some cherry tomatoes to my hubby’s and he had fat-free Catalina instead of bbq).

Comments on: "Amazing Salad!" (1)

  1. This sounds so good right now!

Leave a Reply

