One Day At A Time

Alrighty, so here goes…  it’s a pasta casserole.

I sauteed some chopped onions, green peppers and minced garlic at the same I browned up 2 turkey Italian sausage links (casing off and crumbled).  First time using turkey sausage.  Loved it!  After it was browned I poured this into a bowl and set aside.  Browned up about 1/2 lb of lean ground beef.  Drained.  Added onions and sausage back to pan and added 1 jar of Classico Sweet Basil spaghetti sauce and 2 tablespoons of wheat germ.  Also added in some leftover canned corn and a couple spoonfuls of canned black beans.   OMG!  It tasted sooo good!!

Boiled up a box of Barilla Plus Penne pasta.  This is one of the better pastas listed in my Skinny Chicks book.  Found it at Walmart today and thought I would give it a try.  It’s made with multi-grains, flax seed, chick peas and a few other things.  It was very good.  I liked it better than whole wheat, but will continue to work on eating more whole wheat pasta.

Added everything together, gave it a good stir and served.  Totally hit the spot for me.  Didn’t need much at all as it was quite filling.  Definitely a recipe I will make again.

** Need to find a sauce with a little less sugar.  This one had 9 grams.  Or need to find a homemade sauce recipe that I really like.  Didn’t like the last one I made.

Juicing.  So I still haven’t gotten my behind in gear to photograph my beautiful new juicer. but I’ve used her every day.  Yesterday I juiced 1 orange, 1 apple, 5-6 strawberries, 1/3 cucumber and about 10-12 baby spinach leaves.  It was pretty good and I was quite full when I was done drinking it.

Today I juiced 1 apple, 1 kiwi, 1 orange and 1/2 scoop of flavorless protein powder that my neighbor, Miss Martha, let me try out.  It was DELICIOUS!  Loved it!  Tasted like an orange julius.  🙂  Picked up a big bag of apples today, a couple of pears and more kiwi.  Going to keep experimenting.  I’m surprised at how easy it is to get a whole bunch of fruits and veggies down in just a matter of minutes!  And cleanup takes less than 10 minutes.   Honest.  🙂

Comments on: "New Recipe – I Made It Up Myself! :)" (2)

  1. That does sound delicious. Creating new recipes is so fun. Pasta sauce is a cinch, I’ll post a recipe for you soon that you can make in bulk in your crockpot, or in a single serving.
    I bought a juicer last night finally. I ended up with a Cuisinart, because the 4 stores that I went to were all out of the Breville, which is what I really wanted. So far I’ve used it twice and am having a blast coming up with juice combinations. I’m amazed how long I’m full after drinking it!

  2. Hey Heather, Yay on your new juicer!! I’ve had a glass of juice every morning with my breakfast. Such an easy way to get in a few servings of fruits and veggies. I’m with you, it really is filling and sticks with you for several hours!

    This morning was my fave combo so far – 1 apple, 1 kiwi (peeled), 1/2 lime (peeled), 1/2 cucumber and a handful of baby spinach. It was so light and refreshing! The lime really made it I think. Not too sweet, but sweet enough. Couldn’t even taste the spinach. 🙂

Leave a Reply

