One Day At A Time

Struggling This Week….

So after a couple of weeks of trying to eat nothing but “whole, real” food, and doing such a good job, I’m struggling the last couple of days.  I’ve been having some cravings.  I’m guessing it’s because I had a couple of things over the weekend that did not fit into the real food category, namely Dominoes Pizza and the chocolate St. Patty’s day cookies that Stephanie made.  And although I only had a little bit of each, from everything I’ve read, the sugar addiction starts all over again.  geeeeeze….

I also have not planned what I’m going to eat in my day.  I’ve just been kinda winging it.  I think this contributes to binge eating and grabbing things you know you shouldn’t be eating.  I’m thinking maybe I should make a master list to hang inside a cabinet door with items/suggestions for breakfast foods, lunch foods, dinner foods and snack foods.  That way I can make sure these things are readily available in my kitchen and I’ll know at a glance what things are good for me to eat.

I’m not really worried.  I wasn’t so blind as to think that giving up processed food and sugar would be easy.  I figure there’s bound to be set backs along the journey.  I am determined to feed my body healthier food and in turn hope to feel better, have more energy and lose weight.  It’s only been a couple of weeks.  Overall I think I’ve done a really good job.  I just need to keep it going!

On that note, I think I’ll go eat an apple.  I think there’s a crisp, unbruised one in the fruit drawer of my fridge.  =>

Comments on: "Struggling This Week…." (6)

  1. I would definately not be able to eat real food without menu planning. On Saturday I sit down and plan the menu out for the week. I am away from home 9 hours a day, in an office right next to the coffee pot, and lunch room. There is almost a constant flow of pastries and bad food…So I have to have readily available healthy, high-protein foods to eat, or I’ll fail miserably.
    When I do have a strong sugar craving I take the amino acid L-Glutamine. I take one 500 mg capsule and wait 20 minutes. If it doesn’t help the craving I take 1 more capsule. It almost always does the trick. If it doesn’t work (which is rare) I just eat the darned pastry 🙂
    I also try and stick to an 80/20 rule. 80% excellent highly nutritious food, and then you don’t feel bad about cheating once in a while.
    I think you’re doing a great job! Do you take cod liver oil? It helped my sister kick her junk food cravings completely.

    • Thanks so much for the support…. what IS your name (areafoodlover)! lol I don’t know what to call you! I don’t take cod liver oil. Sounds kinda gross! hah! Does it come in a capsule? How much/how often does one take it?

      • Hi I’m Heather 🙂
        The absolute best brand is Green Pasture Fermented Cod Liver/Butter Oil Blend. Adults should take 2 capsules (500mg) per day. In times of illness I take that dose 3 times a day.

  2. Hi Heather! It’s nice to “meet” you!! 🙂 I will check them out. I just checked out your blog and you’ve definitely got some recipes I want to try! Some have some funky ingredients that I’m not sure where to find, but overall they looked pretty simple and yummy!!

  3. I was going to mention how I like menu planning too. Pinterest has some CUTE ones. This one is my favorite:

Leave a Reply

