One Day At A Time

I am starting to feel better and better each and every day!  Today is pill 2 of my 8 weeks of vitamin D.  My body will be so happy!  Now if I could just get these blasted glasses adjusted properly, all will be well.

So, I made some homemade granola yesterday and it is terrific!  When it first came out of the oven and was all hot and aromatic, I got my spoon to have a taste, and another, and another. Then all of a sudden this alarm went off in my head and said “Step Away From the Granola!”  lol  I am learning restraint.  The main reason I made it was to sprinkle over yogurt, but good grief yogurt has a ton of sugar in it!  Even the Greek yogurt (which I heard is really gross) has quite a bit of sugar.  So I’ve just been eating a little bit out of  a small bowl with a spoon.  It would be great with a little milk on top … sort of like Grape Nuts.  Remember those?  You should give it a try.  This recipe makes a whole cookie sheet full!

Granola with Pecans and Almonds

3 cups quick oats

1/2 cup raw almonds, chopped  (I bought some thinly sliced natural almonds and then chopped them in my little chopper)

1/2 cup raw pecans, chopped  (don’t like pecans – did cashews chopped instead)

1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut  (none – we are not coconut people!)

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons packed brown sugar

2 tablespoons toasted wheat germ

1 tablespoon ground flax-seed  (couldn’t find this at the store)

6 tablespoons honey

3 tablespoons canola oil

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon  (forgot to add!  lol  was great without it – probably better with it!)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Spray a large baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray or line with parchment or Silpat.  In large bowl, stir together oats, almonds, pecans, coconut, salt, brown sugar, wheat germ and ground flax.

2.  In separate small microwaveable bowl, stir together honey, canola oil, cinnamon and vanilla.  Heat in microwave for 45 seconds at 50% power.

3.  Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients and stir until everything is well coated.

4.  Spread granola in an even layer over the baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes, stir, and then bake for 15-20 minutes longer until golden brown.

5.  Let cool completely, stirring occasionally to break up chunks

6.  Store in airtight container.  Makes approximately 5 cups.

Recipe from NotRachelRay.com

Source: notrachaelray.com via Sandy on Pinterest

For dinner I made homemade spaghetti sauce.  I just picked a recipe that sounded good from the internet.  It was good and it was easy except for one thing.  WAY too much Italian Seasoning!!  Next time I will definitely cut back!  And it made a ton.  I will not have to make sauce for the next couple of months.  lol

Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

1 chopped onion

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons olive oil

2 (28 ounce) cans crushed tomatoes

1 (6 ounce) can Italian style tomato paste

3 tablespoons Italian seasoning    (Whoa Nelly!  gonna cut this in half next time!)

2 tablespoons dried basil    (probably cut this in 1/2 too)

1 teaspoon white sugar

1/2 cup red wine    (couldn’t get the dang cork out of the bottle, so no wine in my sauce  😦

1 pinch crushed red pepper

Combine and simmer 3 hours over low heat.    Easy Peasy!

Now the pasta.  I’ll be honest.  I was scared of the whole wheat pasta.  I’ve heard so many people say they don’t care for it.  Skinny Chick says that Barilla is a really good brand.  So I got a box of whole wheat as well as a box of what we usually eat.  I thought for our first venture into whole wheat world, we would try 1/2 and 1/2.    =>     And you know what?  It was not too bad.  I think if I had liked the sauce better I wouldn’t have minded it at all.  I don’t know about larger size whole wheat….  time will tell.    I’ll just keep adding more ww  and less of the regular until we get used to it.

If you have a good homemade sauce please do share!!  =>

Finally found a cute freebie blog template that I like! Love the pretty colors! Happy Friday everyone! =>

Comments on: "Homemade Granola, Spaghetti Sauce and Whole Wheat Pasta" (8)

  1. Took my neighbor, Martha, some granola yesterday. She ate it this morning with milk and said it’s really good! =>

  2. Just had some of your granola for breakfast, ate it like cereal, and it is the best granola I have ever had. Will be making me a batch of this today. Thanks

  3. You can find the Ground flaxseed (or whole flaxseed) at a health food store. I go to the Health Hut on 127 in Hickory. It is in the plaza across the street from Hobby Lobby. It is good for your digestion and adds a little bit of a nutty flavor.

  4. […] last long around here.  But when I need a cookie, they more than do the trick for me.  And the home made granola is delicious!  The girls and I love it!  Just a couple of spoonfuls is quite satisfying with or […]

  5. […] as well.  I don’t even miss the extra tablespoon of honey.  If you haven’t tried this recipe yet, you need to do it today!!  You’ll love it.  And a little fills you up and sticks with […]

  6. […] Making homemade granola today.  Best granola on the planet!  You should try it.  Here’s the recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

